Boxx 2. Play and completion

While I have been beavering away at two other games, I started playing Boxx 2 after quite enjoying the first one https://amigaretroforever.posthaven.com/boxx-1-remake-play-and-completion 

The game is available for download from the developer site at https://lemming880.itch.io/boxx2remake

Overview

As with the first game, this is a platformer where you try to collect coins, dodge hazards and kill bosses. In fact "as with the first game" is probably underselling it because this is essentially more of that game. You will do the same things and if all the levels were in a single package, I think it'd feel like they were always meant to be. 

This doesn't mean the game is a carbon copy though. The level design has developed some and there are far more of the big robot fights, each of which seems to have an intended way to defeat them. At least a few of them also have an alternative option you can use. 

Presentation

In the first game review, I said the music did not stand out to me. I think I was perhaps being a bit unfair. The music is quite well done, it's just that it very much sounds like typical video game music. So as you play it ends up fading into the background. I do appreciate the sort of cute-but-sinister music that plays during boss fights. With the graphics being very cute and bright, it adds a little bit of weight to the game. 

Controls remain sharp and other than my own clumsiness, I never had an issue getting my character to do what I wanted.

Technical factors

As with the first game, it can be played both from adf or installed to your hard drive. Since the last review I did some research and apparently the "Windows" version is for a computer called a PC. The more you learn. 

Gameplay

I definitely found this game more challenging than the first one, but it is still quite accessible. There are difficulty settings though I left it on the default one and had a good time. It very much feels like the developer taking the lessons they learned onboard and using them to make a version that is just that bit more polished and challenging.

As before there is basically no learning curve. You will figure out everything you need to know by playing and if you sat through the first game, you already know it all.

Again replay is perhaps limited. The game felt longer, perhaps because of the slight increase in challenge. As an aside I really enjoyed the victory lap at the end. 

Notes

From the website it seems the original version of this game used a different engine. I have not played this version.